Concesión de becas para estudiantes españoles o extranjeros en instituciones españolas

Se ha publicado el listado de becas ofrecidas por la UIMP para estudiantes españoles o estudiantes extranjeros en instituciones españolas. Puede descargarse el listado de becas concedidas y la lista de espera aquí.

Más información en la página web del curso:

Another ISLiST-2018/UIMP Invited Speaker Recognized by Prestigious International Organization

ISLiST-2018/UIMP Invited Speaker Recognized by Prestigious International Organization

Peter Winzer, recipient of the 2018 John Tyndall Award

"For contributions to understanding and advancing the capacity of coherent optical communication systems including advanced modulation formats and spatial multiplexing.”

The Award is given annually by OSA and the IEEE Photonics Society for contributions in optical-fiber technology.

Peter Winzer is the Chair of Optical Transmission Systems and Networks Research Department, Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, and also the Editor in Chief of IEEE/OSA JLT, USA.

Eli Yablonovitch Awarded 2018 IEEE Edison Medal

"For leadership, innovations, and entrepreneurial achievements in photonics, semi-conductor lasers, antennas, and solar cells.”


The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE, Edison Medal is only awarded to a new leap/breakthrough in the technological area of science. It is the oldest and most coveted medal in this field of engineering in the United States.

Prof. Eli Yablonovitch is Director of the NSF Center for Energy Efficient Electronics Science, University of California, Berkeley, USA. He, with Prof. Russell (Director of Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany), will be the invited keynote speakers of the Special Session on Photonic Crystals in ISLIST 2018 at UIMP

José Capmany new Editor in Chief of IEEE Journal of Selected Topics on Quantum Electronics

Prof. Capmany is the 2012 King James I Prize Laureate on novel technologies, the highest scientific distinction in Spain, for his outstanding contributions to the field of microwave photonics.  In 2016, he was awarded an ERC Advanced Grant to develop on-chip universal microwave photonics processors. He is also the Action Chair of  COST A 16220 European network on High Performance  Integrated Microwave Photonics (


In addition, it is announced in advance that the ISLIST International Student Grants call will be opened on January 30th, 2018.  

Please see:


Spanish Students Grants call is open

Deadline: May 28, 2018

The applications for Spanish Students or Students of any nationality but working/studying in Spanish Institutions is available at the course registration page:

The grant should be requested during the course registration process, accessing the option “Solicitud On Line” at the upper-right corner of the web page. To start the registration process, a user must be created (

Bachelor, Master and PhD Students can apply for two kinds of student grants:

i)                    Registration Grants or

ii)                  Full Grants that cover course registration, accommodation and living expenses.

For More details about student Grants, please visit:

Should you need any further help, please contact:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


José Capmany new Editor in Chief of IEEE Journal of Selected Topics on Quantum Electronics

ISLiST-2018/UIMP Invited Speaker Recognized by Prestigious International Organization

José Capmany new Editor in Chief of IEEE Journal of Selected Topics on Quantum Electronics

capmanyProf. Capmany is the Director of IMCO2 Research Institute and also Director of iTEAM (Institute of Telecommunications and Applications Multimedia) of the Polytechnic University of Valencia. He is a Fellow IEEE, Fellow OSA. He is recipient of the Rey Jaime I 2012 in Nuevas Tecnolgías Award. After January 1st, 2018 he will try to conduct IEEE JSTQE to a very high Quality Journal.

Currently, similar function, is doing by other very reputed ISLiST-2018 invited speaker:

Peter Winzer

winzerChair of Optical Transmission Systems and Metworks Research Department of Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, USA that is, currently, the Editor in Chief of IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology.


The International School on Light Sciences and Technologies, ISLiST at Menéndez Pelayo International University, UIMP is an annual prestigious international event, every fourth week of June. The International School in 2018 will focus on light in Communications and Sensing.