Another ISLiST-2018/UIMP Invited Speaker Recognized by Prestigious International Organization

ISLiST-2018/UIMP Invited Speaker Recognized by Prestigious International Organization

Peter Winzer, recipient of the 2018 John Tyndall Award

"For contributions to understanding and advancing the capacity of coherent optical communication systems including advanced modulation formats and spatial multiplexing.”

The Award is given annually by OSA and the IEEE Photonics Society for contributions in optical-fiber technology.

Peter Winzer is the Chair of Optical Transmission Systems and Networks Research Department, Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, and also the Editor in Chief of IEEE/OSA JLT, USA.

Eli Yablonovitch Awarded 2018 IEEE Edison Medal

"For leadership, innovations, and entrepreneurial achievements in photonics, semi-conductor lasers, antennas, and solar cells.”


The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE, Edison Medal is only awarded to a new leap/breakthrough in the technological area of science. It is the oldest and most coveted medal in this field of engineering in the United States.

Prof. Eli Yablonovitch is Director of the NSF Center for Energy Efficient Electronics Science, University of California, Berkeley, USA. He, with Prof. Russell (Director of Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany), will be the invited keynote speakers of the Special Session on Photonic Crystals in ISLIST 2018 at UIMP

José Capmany new Editor in Chief of IEEE Journal of Selected Topics on Quantum Electronics

Prof. Capmany is the 2012 King James I Prize Laureate on novel technologies, the highest scientific distinction in Spain, for his outstanding contributions to the field of microwave photonics.  In 2016, he was awarded an ERC Advanced Grant to develop on-chip universal microwave photonics processors. He is also the Action Chair of  COST A 16220 European network on High Performance  Integrated Microwave Photonics (


In addition, it is announced in advance that the ISLIST International Student Grants call will be opened on January 30th, 2018.  

Please see: